Loading Events
  • centre for humanitarian action

Upcoming Events

KUNO Summer Course 2020

08.07.2020 - 09.07.2020 all-day

Have you recently started working in the humanitarian field looking for a solid impetus? Or are you already experienced and looking for a thorough update? Then the KUNO Summer Course on July 8-9, 2020 could be of interest to you.

Save the Date: CHA Conference on the Triple Nexus, October 2020

26.10.2020 - 27.10.2020 all-day

Save the Date: From October 26 to 27 2020, CHA is organising an international conference. Topic: Triple Nexus in Practice - What about peace? Further information will follow shortly.

Past Events

Starvation crimes – Hunger as a weapon in conflict

19.06.2020 11:00 - 12:30

'Starvation crimes – Hunger as a weapon in conflict' - join our webinar, co-hosted by Welthungerhilfe, on June 19, 11 CEST. We are looking forward to welcoming you!

Cash and Voucher Assistance in Syria: Opportunities and Challenges

18.06.2020 14:00 - 15:30

Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe offers a webinar on June 18, 14 CEST on 'Cash and Voucher Assistance in Syria: Opportunities and Challenges'. CHA Director Ralf Südhoff is one of the panelists.

Webinar Do No Harm

03.06.2020 10:00 - 11:30

Not every "well-meant" project is also good. How can this be changed? VENRO e.V. is offering a webinar on the established Do No Harm approach on May 18-19, 2020.

Compass 2020 – The reality of German development policy

15.05.2020 12:30 - 13:30

On the occasion of the publication of the "Compass 2020", Welthungerhilfe and terre des hommes invite to a webinar on May 15, 2020 at 12h30 CEST. Topic: The reality of German development policy.

The Triple Nexus: Threat or Opportunity for the Humanitarian Principles?

14.05.2020 15:00 - 16:30

We invite you to our CHA webinar on May 14, 2020, 15h CEST. Topic: the Triple Nexus. Guest speakers: Marc DuBois, former MSF Director UK/IE and Senior Fellow at the SOAS University of London and Dabagaï Dabagaï, Country Director at Action Contre la Faim Mali.

Webinar counterterrorism measures and humanitarian assistance

29.04.2020 10:00 - 11:30

Sanctions lists, export bans, risk assessments - counterterrorism measures are becoming more frequent and are making humanitarian assistance more difficult. How to keep an overview? VENRO e.V. invites to a webinar on April 29, 2020, 10 CEST. CHA employees will provide input.

Hunger and armed conflict: when hunger becomes a weapon of war

26.03.2020 09:00 - 11:30

Starvation as a method of warfare - a development that was believed to have been overcome in recent years. Hunger as a weapon is used both against the civilian population and against humanitarian aid workers. On 26 March 2020, Welthungerhilfe invites to an expert discussion. CHA Research Fellow Andrea Steinke will participate as a panelist.

Triple Nexus – a donor-driven agenda?

10.03.2020 16:00 - 18:00

CHA's third Triple Nexus roundtable will be co-hosted by VENRO and will focus on the German and European donor landscape. On the event, VOICE will also present its study on European NGO perspectives on the Nexus.

Doctors do not prevent genocide

19.02.2020 18:30 - 20:00

The genocide in Rwanda in 1994 and the questions that Doctors without Borders (MSF) asked itself remain relevant today: What can a medical organisation really do? What can humanitarian assistance do? Friedensakademie Rheinland-Pfalz invites to the Landau Peace Lectures with Ulrike von Pilar on 19 February.

Mid-term review of German membership of the UN Security Council

13.02.2020 09:30 - 13:00

Germany's first year in the UN Security Council is over. Time for an interim review. Save the Children, CARE, Oxfam and NRC in cooperation with CHA and the Swedish Embassy invite to a joint discussion on February 13, 2020.

YEMEN: When water is used as a weapon of war

06.02.2020 09:30 - 11:30

For five years now, the war in Yemen has been fought in a way that contributed to the country’s fall into an unprecedented water, sanitation, hygiene (WaSH) and an overall public health crisis. On February 6 2020, Aktion gegen den Hunger (ACF) will present a new study on this subject. CHA hosts the event.

Humanitarian Reflections

04.02.2020 13:00 - 16:00

The Centre for Humanitarian Action (CHA) together with the Institute for International Law of Peace and Humanitarian Law (IFHV) and the University of Siegen invite to a joint event on Feb 4 to bring together humanitarian practitioners and scientists.

Migration and the Humanitarian Space in Europe

29.01.2020 16:00 - 18:00

Migration and the Humanitarian Space in Europe are much discussed topics. On January 29, 2020, the Centre for Humanitarian Action (CHA) and Groupe URD invite you to a roundtable discussion.

Target groups on the web – Stammtisch für die gute Sache No. 7

22.01.2020 14:00 - 16:00

Centre for Humanitarian Action, Maecenata Foundation, allcodesarebeautiful (ACB) and werk21 Kommunikation GmbH invite to the 7th Stammtisch für die gute Sache on January 22.

Humanitarian assistance 50 years after Biafra

14.01.2020 10:30 - 12:30

January 2020 marks the 50th anniversary of the end of the so-called Biafra war. The Federal Foreign Office together with Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe and the German Caritasverband e.V./Caritas international invite to an event on January 14, 2020.

10 years after the earthquake in Haiti

09.01.2020 11:00 - 14:30

What is the situation today in Haiti, ten years after the earthquake? Bündnis Entwicklung Hilft is inviting to an event on January 9, 2020. CHA Fellow Andrea Steinke will be there as a panelist.

Journalist Award Humanitarian Aid

05.01.2020 all-day

Aktion Deutschland Hilft and the Federal Foreign Office award the Journalist Award Humanitarian Aid for the third time. CHA Director Ralf Südhoff is a member of the jury. Applications for research grants can be submitted until January 05, 2020.

The honest broker? Germany and its new humanitarian strategy and role

06.12.2019 12:00 - 14:00

The Global Public Policy Institute (GPPi) and the Centre for Humanitarian Action (CHA) invite to a round table on December 06, 2019. Topic: Germany's new humanitarian role and strategy.

Contested Triple Nexus – Examples from Mali

28.11.2019 16:00 - 18:00

The Centre for Humanitarian Action (CHA) invites you to its second event on the Humanitarian Development Peace Nexus. The event will take place on November 28, 2019, 16-18h in the facilities of CHA in Berlin.

IOM Migration Talks

28.11.2019 12:00 - 14:00

The International Organization For Migration (IOM) Germany and SOS MEDITERRANEE invite to the IOM Migration Talks on November 28, 2019. CHA research fellow Kristina Roepstorff will give input.

Humanitarian Congress Berlin 2019

17.10.2019 - 18.10.2019 09:00 - 17:30

On 17 and 18 October 2019 the Humanitarian Congress Berlin will take place for the 21st time. As last year, the CHA will also be present with a stand. Please also visit our panel on the humanitarian situation in Syria, moderated by Ralf Südhoff.

ALNAP 32nd Annual Meeting

15.10.2019 - 16.10.2019 08:00 - 17:30

ALNAP's 32nd Annual Meeting in Berlin will discuss the relevance of humanitarian aid and analyse how people in humanitarian crisis can get the support that is most important to them. Ralf Südhoff will moderate a plenary session.

Bonn Peace Days 2019

24.09.2019 18:00 - 20:30

As part of the Bonn Peace Days 2019 and on the occasion of the International Peace Day on 24 September 2019, Ralf Südhoff will participate in a panel discussion on the topic of: "Development policy in Syria? Humanitarian aid, reconstruction and peace-building facing difficult challenges".

Roundtable: Counterterrorism laws and sanctions regime

18.09.2019 15:00 - 18:00

Action Contre la Faim (ACF) and the CHA invite to a confidential round table in which NGOs can discuss the implications of counterterrorism legislation of international donors and the effect they have for their project work and humanitarian aid in general.

Monday on the Couch: Refugees, Activists and Humanitarians – all criminals?

22.07.2019 18:30 - 21:00

IAC and CHA are going to discuss the implications of recent developments in Europe regarding humanitarian access and civic action around asylum seeking.

Roundtable: The Triple Nexus in Practice

12.06.2019 14:00 - 17:00

Doctors without Borders (MSF) and the CHA are hosting a roundtable under Chatham House Rule to discuss with other humanitarian and multi-mandate organisations how the Triple Nexus is working in conflict zones and how this approach is affecting humanitarian action.

Discussion with Mark Lowcock, USG UN-OCHA

05.06.2019 13:30 - 14:30

The CHA is pleased to welcome Mark Lowcock for exchanging with Berlin-based humanitarian stakeholders - in a closed, by invitation only, event – about both opportunities and challenges of anticipatory humanitarian financing and its future establishment in the humanitarian system.

Symposium: Humanitarian Assistance in a Changing World

04.04.2019 14:30 - 18:00

The report "State of the Humanitarian System (SOHS)" is one of the most important analyses of humanitarian action worldwide. The current report deals with international developments since 2015. The German launch of the report will be presented jointly by the CHA, the Federal Foreign Office and ALNAP.

Parliament hearing on humanitarian assistance

20.03.2019 15:00 - 18:00

The CHA has been appointed as an expert for a public hearing of the Federal German Parliament and its Committee on Human Rights and Humanitarian Aid. We will comment on the German government's report on its humanitarian assistance from 2014 to 2017.

Opening event of CHA

19.03.2019 18:00 - 21:00

We will discuss the topic "Humanitarian aid in crisis - does Germany need to play a bigger role?" with Niels Annen (Federal Foreign Office), Dr. Oliver Müller (Caritas Germany), Cornelia Füllkrug-Weitzel (Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe) and Florian Westphal (MSF Germany) plus international guests.

Lade Veranstaltungen
  • centre for humanitarian action

Kommende Veranstaltungen

Webinar Do-No-Harm-Ansatz

03.06.2020 10:00 - 11:30

Nicht jedes „gut gemeinte“ Projekt ist auch gut. Wie kann das geändert werden? VENRO e.V. bietet vom 18.-19.05. 2020 ein Webinar zum etablierten Do-No-Harm-Ansatz an.

KUNO Summer Course 2020

08.07.2020 - 09.07.2020 ganztägig

Sind Sie seit kurzem im humanitären Bereich tätig und suchen Sie nach einem soliden Anstoß? Oder bereits erfahren und auf der Suche nach einem gründlichen Update? Dann könnte Sie der KUNO Summer Course vom 8. bis zum 9. Juli 2020 interessieren.

Save the Date: CHA-Konferenz zum Triple Nexus, Oktober 2020

26.10.2020 - 27.10.2020 ganztägig

Save the Date: Vom 26. bis zum 27. Oktober 2020 organisiert das CHA eine interanationale Konferenz. Thema: Triple Nexus in Practice - What about peace? Weitere Infos folgen in Kürze.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Kompass 2020 – Zur Wirklichkeit der deutschen Entwicklungspolitik

15.05.2020 12:30 - 13:30

Anlässlich des Erscheinens des „Kompass 2020“ laden die Deutsche Welthungerhilfe und terre des hommes am 15. Mai 2020 um 12h30 CEST zu einem Webinar ein. Thema: Zur Wirklichkeit deutscher Entwicklungspolitik.

The Triple Nexus: Threat or Opportunity for Humanitarian Principles?

14.05.2020 15:00 - 16:30

Wir laden Sie am 14. Mai 2020, 15 h CEST zu unserem CHA-Webinar zum Thema Triple Nexus ein. Gastredner: Marc DuBois, ehemaliger MSF-Direktor UK/IE und Senior Fellow an der SOAS University of London und Dabagaï Dabagaï, Landesdirektorin von Action Contre la Faim Mali.

Webinar Aniterrorismusmaßnahmen und humanitäre Hilfe

29.04.2020 10:00 - 11:30

Sanktionslisten, Exportverbote, Risikoprüfungen – Antiterrorismusmaßnahmen häufen sich und erschweren die humanitäre Hilfe. Wie den Überblick bewahren? VENRO e.V. lädt am 29. April, 10 CEST zu einem Webinar ein. CHA-Mitarbeitende geben Input.

Hunger und bewaffnete Konflikte: wenn Hunger zur Kriegswaffe wird

26.03.2020 09:00 - 11:30

Aushungern als Methode der Kriegsführung – eine Entwicklung, die in den vergangenen Jahren als überwunden geglaubt wurde. Hunger als Waffe wird sowohl gegen die Zivilbevölkerung als auch gegen humanitäre Helfer*innen angewandt. Am 26. März 2020 lädt die Welthungerhilfe zu einem Fachgespräch ein. CHA-Mitarbeiterin Andrea Steinke ist als Panelistin dabei.

Triple Nexus – a donor-driven agenda?

10.03.2020 16:00 - 18:00

Der dritte Triple Nexus Roundtable findet in Kooperation mit VENRO statt und widmet sich der europäischen und deutschen Geberlandschaft. VOICE wird zudem seine neue Studie aus europäischer NGO-Perspektive vorstellen.

Ärzte verhindern keinen Völkermord

19.02.2020 18:30 - 20:00

Der Völkermord in Ruanda 1994 und die Fragen, die sich Ärzte ohne Grenzen damals und in der Folge gestellt haben, bleiben auch heute noch relevant: Was kann eine medizinische Hilfsorganisation wirklich tun? Was kann humanitäre Hilfe leisten? Die Friedensakademie Rheinland-Pfalz lädt am 19. Februar zu den Landau Peace Lectures mit Ulrike von Pilar ein.

Ein Jahr deutsche Mitgliedschaft im UN-Sicherheitsrat

13.02.2020 09:30 - 13:00

Save the Children, CARE, Oxfam und NRC laden in Kooperation mit CHA und der schwedischen Botschaft dazu ein, eine humanitäre Halbzeitbilanz zu Deutschlands Mitgliedschaft im UN-Sicherheitsrat zu ziehen.

YEMEN: When water is used as a weapon of war

06.02.2020 09:30 - 11:30

Seit fünf Jahren wird der Krieg im Jemen auf eine Art und Weise geführt, die dazu beigetragen hat, dass das Land in eine beispiellose Wasser-, Sanitär- und Hygienekrise (WaSH) und eine allgemeine Krise im Bereich der öffentlichen Gesundheit geraten ist. Am 6. Februar 2020 wird Aktion gegen den Hunger (ACF) eine neue Studie vorstellen. Das CHA hostet die Veranstaltung.

Humanitarian Reflections

04.02.2020 13:00 - 16:00

Das Centre for Humanitarian Action (CHA) lädt gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Friedenssicherungsrecht und Humanitäres Völkerrecht (IFHV) und der Universität Siegen zu einer gemeinsamen Veranstaltung am 4. Februar ein, um humanitäre Praktiker*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen zusammenzubringen.

Migration and the Humanitarian Space in Europe

29.01.2020 16:00 - 18:00

Migration und der Humanitarian Space in Europa sind ein viel diskutiertes Thema. Am 29. Januar 2020 laden das Centre for Humanitarian Action (CHA) und Groupe URD zu einer Roundtable Discussion ein.

Zielgruppen im Web – Stammtisch für die gute Sache Nr. 7

22.01.2020 14:00 - 16:00

Das Centre for Humanitarian Action, die Maecenata Stiftung, allcodesarebeautiful (ACB) und die werk21 Kommunikation GmbH laden am 22. Januar zum 7. Stammtisch für die gute Sache ein.

Humanitäre Hilfe 50 Jahre nach Biafra

14.01.2020 10:30 - 12:30

Im Januar 2020 jährt sich das Ende des sogenannten Biafra-Krieges zum 50. Mal. Das Auswärtige Amt zusammen mit Deutschlandfunk Kultur, der Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe und dem Deutschen Caritasverband e.V./Caritas international laden am 14. Januar 2020 zu einer Veranstaltung ein.

Zehn Jahre nach dem Erdbeben in Haiti

09.01.2020 11:00 - 14:30

Wie ist die Situation heute in Haiti, zehn Jahre nach dem Erdbeben? Das Bündnis Entwicklung hilft lädt am 9. Januar 2020 zu einer Veranstaltung ein. Als Panelistin mit dabei: CHA-Mitarbeiterin Andrea Steinke.

Journalistenpreis Humanitäre Hilfe

05.01.2020 ganztägig

Aktion Deutschland Hilft und das Auswärtige Amt vergeben zum dritten Mal den Journalistenpreis Humanitäre Hilfe. CHA-Direktor Ralf Südhoff sitzt in der Jury. Bewerbungen für Recherchestipendien können bis zum 5. Januar 2020 eingereicht werden.

The honest broker? Germany and its new humanitarian strategy and role

06.12.2019 12:00 - 14:00

Das Global Public Policy Institute (GPPi) und das Centre for Humanitarian Action (CHA) laden am 06. Dezember 2019 zu einem Runden Tisch ein. Thema: Deutschlands neue humanitäre Rolle und Strategie.

Contested Triple Nexus – Beispiele aus Mali

28.11.2019 16:00 - 18:00

Das Centre for Humanitarian Action (CHA) lädt zu seiner zweiten Veranstaltung zum Humanitarian-Development-Peace Nexus ein. Die Veranstaltung findet am 28. November 2019 von 16-18h in den Räumlichkeiten des CHA in Berlin statt.

IOM Migration Talks

28.11.2019 12:00 - 14:00

Die International Organization For Migration (IOM) Deutschland und SOS MEDITERRANEE laden am 28. November 2019 zu den IOM Migration Talks ein. CHA-Mitarbeiterin Kristina Roepstorff wird Input geben.

Humanitärer Kongress Berlin 2019

17.10.2019 - 18.10.2019 09:00 - 17:30

Am 17. und 18.10.2019 findet zum 21. Mal der Humanitäre Kongress Berlin statt. Das CHA wird wie letztes Jahr auch wieder mit einem Stand vertreten sein. Besuchen Sie auch unser Panel zur humanitären Situation in Syrien, moderiert von Ralf Südhoff.

ALNAP 32. Jahrestagung

15.10.2019 - 16.10.2019 08:00 - 17:30

Am 15. und 16.10.2019 findet die 32. Jahrestagung von ALNAP statt. Das diesjährige Thema beschäftigt sich mit der Relevanz von humanitärer Hilfe und untersucht, wie Betroffene von humanitären Krisen die für sie wichtigste Unterstützung erhalten können. Ralf Südhoff wird eine Plenarsitzung moderieren.

Bonner Friedenstage 2019

24.09.2019 18:00 - 20:30

Ralf Südhoff wird im Rahmen der Bonner Friedenstage 2019 und anlässlich des Internationalen Friedenstags am 24.09.2019 an einer Podiumsdiskussion zum folgenden Thema teilnehmen: Entwicklungspolitik in Syrien? Humanitäre Hilfe, Wiederaufbau und Friedensförderung vor schwierigen Herausforderungen.

Runder Tisch: Anti-Terrorgesetze und Sanktionsregime

18.09.2019 15:00 - 18:00

Aktion gegen den Hunger und das CHA laden zu einem vertraulichen Runden Tisch, in dem NROs diskutieren können, wie sich die counterterrorism Gesetzgebung internationaler Geber auf die humanitäre Hilfe und ihre Projektarbeit auswirkt.

Monday on the Couch: Geflüchtete, Retter, Helfer – alles Kriminelle?

22.07.2019 18:30 - 21:00

IAC und CHA werden die Implikationen der Migrationskriminalisierung für den humanitären Zugang sowie für bürgerschaftliches Engagement in Europa diskutieren.

Runder Tisch: Der Triple Nexus in der Praxis

12.06.2019 14:00 - 17:00

MSF und CHA laden zu einem vertraulichen Runden Tisch ein, um mit anderen humanitären und Multimandatsorganisationen zu diskutieren, wie der Triple Nexus in Konfliktregionen funktioniert und ob sich der Ansatz auf humanitäre Grundsätze auswirkt.

Gespräch mit Mark Lowcock, USG UN-OCHA

05.06.2019 13:30 - 14:30

Anlässlich des Besuchs von Mark Lowcock findet mit in Berlin ansässigen humanitären Organisationen ein Gespräch über die Chancen und Herausforderungen einer vorausschauenden humanitären Finanzierung und seiner Verankerung im humanitären System statt.

Symposium: Humanitäre Hilfe im Wandel

04.04.2019 14:30 - 18:00

Der Report „State of the Humanitarian System (SOHS)“ ist einer der wichtigsten Analysen der humanitären Hilfe weltweit. Der aktuelle Bericht befasst sich mit den internationalen Entwicklungen seit 2015. Der deutsche Launch des Berichts wird gemeinsam vom CHA, dem Auswärtigen Amt und ALNAP präsentiert.

Anhörung im Bundestag zur deutschen humanitären Hilfe

20.03.2019 15:00 - 18:00

Das CHA ist als Sachverständiger für eine öffentliche Anhörung im Bundestagsausschuss für Menschenrechte und humanitäre Hilfe benannt worden.

Humanitäre Hilfe in der Krise – Deutschland nur ein kleiner Riese?

19.03.2019 18:00 - 21:00

CHA-Auftaktveranstaltung u.a. mit: Niels Annen (Auswärtiges Amt), Dr. Oliver Müller (Caritas international), Cornelia Füllkrug-Weitzel (Diakonie Katastrophenhilfe) und Florian Westphal (Ärzte ohne Grenzen e.V.)